## Mayor Choosing 2023

Torpoint Town Council's Annual Meeting and Mayor Choosing Ceremony was held on Thursday 18th May in the Council Hall, Torpoint. Master of Ceremonies Town Crier David Green, under the direction of the Town Clerk, announced the proceedings. The retiring Town Mayor Councillor Rachel Evans BEM reviewed her year of office, which included thank you presentations. The retiring Deputy Town Mayor Councillor Gary Davis was elected to serve as Town Mayor for the civic year 2023/24. He signed his Declaration of Acceptance of Office in front of honoured guests, Councillors and residents of the town. Honoured guests, included: Plymouth Lord Mayor Councillor Sue Dann and Deputy Lord Mayor Councillor Chris Penberthy; Sheryll Murray – MP; Mayor of Saltash Councillor Richard Bickford and Mayoress Sarah Bickford, Mayor of Looe Councillor Tony Smith and Consort; Cornwall Councillor Kate Ewert; Freeman of Torpoint Mike Pearn MBE and Chair of Millbrook Parish Council Councillor Nicky Roberts and Joshua Roberts. Councillor Davis introduced Mrs Victoria Davis as Mayoress and Master George Davis as the Town Mayor's Deputy Consort.

Councillor Julie Martin was elected to serve as Deputy Town Mayor and introduced Andy Martin as her Consort. Rev. Michael Woodall will serve as the Mayor's Chaplain and Harry Sprague was chosen to continue to serve as the Mayor's Cadet. The Town Mayor and former Town Mayor toasted each other raising their glasses and drinking a toast to the "Town of Torpoint."

Photography Credit: Jarrad Hulm Photography South West











