

TORPOINT TOWN COUNCIL

MINUTES of the Parish (Town) meeting of Torpoint held on Thursday 26th May 2022 at 8.27pm in the Council Committee Room, 4, York Road, Torpoint.

PRESENT: - Town Mayor (Councillor Miss Rachel Evans BEM - Chairman), eleven Town Councillors and the Town Clerk. Town Clerk took the minutes of the proceedings on behalf of the town.

1. Minutes of the last Parish meeting.

It was resolved the minutes of the meeting held on Thursday 27th May 2021 are received and signed by the Town Mayor (Chairman).

2. Matters arising from the minutes.

None.

3. Report from the Town Mayor covering the activities of the Town Council.

Following the devolution of the four play parks (Thanckes Park Play Park, Borough Play Park, Chestnut Close Play Park, Cambridge Field) and tennis courts from Cornwall Council, over the past 12 months all of the parks have seen improvements made, including the installation of signs and benches. Cambridge Field has benefitted from significant investment into new play equipment and all of the play parks have already seen increased usage. Improvements to the fencing surrounding the tennis courts have been undertaken, it is hoped usage of the courts will now increase.

The Library and Community Hub has continued to go from strength to strength, with the footfall of visitors and number of activities increasing all the time. I am delighted to advise that everywhere I visit, I receive compliments regarding the Library and Community Hub, congratulations to all those involved.

Following the motion passed by the town council to declare a climate emergency, the council is committed to developing a climate emergency action plan; the Torpoint Environmental Action (TEA) initiative, which aims to get volunteers in the town to support in litter picking and other activities, is continuing to be a success.

3. Electors Questions.

There were no questions from electors.

4. Any Motions from Electors.

None.

5. Date of Next Meeting.

Thursday 25th May 2023.

Town Meeting closed at 8.30pm......Town Mayor (Chairman)